A pdf document of Early Woottens is available. Write me please.
Sat Mar 18 16:40:34 EST 1995
Sat Mar 18 16:40:34 EST 1995
On October 2, 1671, Randall Revell applied for headrights on 50 acres of land for bringing John Wootten into Maryland from Virginia. (Md. Ret. Rec. Vol. 16 p. 297). Between then and 1681 I (J. E. Jacobs) have found no record on him, but on July 27, 1681 he purchased from Col. William Colbourne a tract of 300 acres called Vulcan's Vineyard for 10,000 pounds of tobacco. (Som. Deed MA-06 folio 513). This tract was on the north side of Cuttomactico Creek. On November 1, 1681 he purchased from Capt. Henry Smith an additional tract of 300 acres in Nasewattux Neck called Mitten for 9,000 pounds of tobacco. (Som. Deed MA-06 folio 515). In the Coulbourne deed John was described as a sawyer. He kept Vulcan's Vineyard until June 8, 1686 when he sold it to Richard Nickells. Mary, his wife, joined in this deed. He sold for 9,500 pounds of tobacco losing 500 pounds in the deal. He and Mary sold Mitten on Sept. 12, 1699 to Thomas Pool (Som. Deed L#2, folio 521). This deed was erroneously indexed under Outten. Since the two tracts were well separated it is possible that their son Richard lived on Vulcan's Vineyard.
Children of John WOOTTEN and Mary :
Marriage performed in Somerset by Mr. William Brereton (IKL folio 182). Cullet apparently died before 1695 and Edward then remarried because there is an entry in the Coventry Parish Records of Somerset that a son, John, was born to Edward Wootten and Margaret, his wife, at Manokin on January 5, 1696 (Microfilm Md. Hall of Records). Edward served in the was against the Nanticoke Indians in 1678 and was paid 300 pounds of tobacco for his services (Md. Archives folio -). No deeds to him are recorded but he registered a cattle mark in Somerset on March 22, 1679 and again on December 1, 1683. He could have lived at Vulcan's Vineyard, but if he was living in Manokin in 1696 he was not at Mitten.
Children of Edward WOOTTEN and Cullett SOUTHERN:
Sarah had apparently died before 1763. John Frizzell was possibly a Quaker since in a deed to his son-in-law Edward Wootten he uses the date the 6th day of 9ber, 1702, a term the Quakers used instead of the pagan Latin names for the months (L#2-07 folio 706). This property called Coxes Choice was situate at the head of the Rocawauckin River on the North side of the Southeast branch of said river. This would place it east of Salisbury on what is now Beaver Dam Creek. Mary, younger sister of Sarah Fizzell, was born on October 16, 1690 (IKL 282) and they were married before 1713 when John Fizzell died. On the 3rd day of 9ber, 1720 William Bozman, Sr. executed a bond to convey to Edward Wootten, planter, a tract of land known as Hound's Ditch (Som IK folio 127) containing 500 acres. This tract was on the west side of the main branch of a creek making out of Nanticoke River called Broad Creek about three miles up said branch from Broad Creek Landing. The property was conveyed to him on June 14, 1722 (Som. IK14 folio 225). On March 20, 1726 Edward and Sarah conveyed Coxes Choice to a John Magee (TH16 folio 62). so it is reasonably safe to say Edward moved to the property east of Laurel about 1722 and certainly by 1726 for he and his son John witnessed a will there on February 17, 1726. On April 13, 1763 Edward conveyed to his son John (Wor E folio 511) a negro man Gompy, a bed and furniture, riding saddle and bridle, squirrel gun, the chest that was already at John's house and its contents, his curring knife, still, cross cut saw and the use of his smith's and cooper's tools. By deed of the same date and recorded on the same page, Edwart conveyed to his grandson, Benjamin, all his household goods, stock, and all tools not given to John (Wor. F folio 32), 300 acres of Hound's Ditch and 100 acres called Inclosed which he had patented in --, reserving a life estate in each. On November 3, 1763, John conveyed to his son Benjamin (Wor. F folio 33) the 100 acres of Inclosed and the eastern 150 acres of Hound's Ditch, so it is probable that Edward died about this time as there was no mention of the life estate in the conveyance.
Children of Edward WOOTTEN and Sarah FRIZZELL:
He patented a tract of 50 acres called Chance on 10/26/1722 (further indication that they moved north at this time) and conveyed it to his sister Cullett, wife of Thomas Sherman on March 8, 1734 (Som. AZ/8/229). This was on the south side of Broad Creek and the west side of Bald Cypress Creek. He sued Brent Nuttall in Nov. 1730 for rum sold 7/18/19 @ 5 shillings per gallon (Som. Judicials 1730-33/91). On Sept. 2, 1765 he conveyed 50 acres called Wootten's Choice which he had patented to his son Edward (Wor. F folio 425). This land was on the east side of Bald Cypress Branch. On March 18, 1769 he conveyed to his son John Jr. a tract of 141 acres called Ruke's Adventure (Wor. H Folio 12) which he had patented in 1748. This tract was north of Broad Creek in Broad Creek Hundred. On March 23, 1771 he bought from Joshua Hearn a parcel of 35 acres called Folley (Wor. H folio 589). He was appointed guardian for his grandson Jonathan on May 6, 1777 (Sussex O. Ct. A folio 456). He was still living on January 3, 1779 when he acknowledged receipt of Jonathan's share of John Jr.'s estate. In addition to Wootten's Choice he patented 12 acres called Wotten's Swamp and in 1760 256 acres called Sandown. On March 26, 1783 he conveyed 246 acres of Sandown to his son, Isaac (Sussex M12 folio 504), and 148 acres to his son, Elijah (M12folio 505). These conveyances must have been shortly before his death and in contemplation of death.
John WOOTTEN and First wife John WOOTTEN had no children.
Children of John WOOTTEN and Margaret DAVIS:
In the deed from his father referred to above he is referred to as being a joiner meaning a carpenter or cabinetmaker. The Woottens of this generation were apparently dedicated Marylanders who resisted the effect of the agreement between Lord Balitmore and William Penn which gave Delaware the area between Cape Henlopen and Fenwick Island. In 1759 John Jr. was a member of a posse from Worcester Co. Md. which was attempting to make lists of taxables in the disputed area. A fight occurred and William Outten, a Md. deputy sherriff was killed by two Delawareans, Willy and Sharp (9 Md. Arch. 336) and the members of the posse were arrested. The grand jury of the Del. Court of Quarter Sessions indicted the members of the posse in Feb. 1759 (31 Md. Arch. 307- 351). The trial date was set for June 25, 1759 (9 Md. Arch. 560) but no records exist as to the results of the trial if it was held.
On 26 March 1783, Isaac received a deed from his father for 256 acres of Sandown, a tract located on the North side of the road from Laurel to Trussum's Pond. In his will Isaac describes the easternmost portion of his land where his brother Jacob formerly lived. Isaac's father may have deeded Isaac what was intended for Jacob, or Isaac may have otherwise acquired it from Jacob. Isaac was probably a widower on 2 March 1791, the day he...
NB. Map shows Hearn's Crossroads SE of Laurel on SR70 at intersection with SR68. SR 70 then curves S by a pond on the E side to join SR64, traveling EW at this point. HAW 11/9/91.
Children of Isaac WOOTTEN and Levinia GORDY:
Orlando Wootten descends from this line.
Isaac was a minor when his father died and his elder brother, Peter Gordy Wootten, was appointed his guardian. The description of the property his father left him is as follows: `1 wood dwelling house 1 story high 20' x 18' wide. Two brick chimneys and two rooms below, one smoke house. A farmer, he served in the defense of Lewes in the War of 1812. He was trustee of the Poor in Sussex County 1815-1820. The epitaph on his tombstone, on the family farm on the North side of the road from Laurel through Hearns Crossroads on Trussum's Pond, now owned by Arthur King, reads: In about 60 years he was a consistant and exmplary member of the Baptist Church, His life was adorned with all the traits that characterize a Christian and a good citizen and by hiw intercourse with his fellows he has left behind him an irreproachable character and a spotless name.
Children of Isaac WOOTTEN and Mary KING:
Children of Nathaniel J. WOOTTEN and Emmaline S. WINDSOR:
Most of the following information is from `Sketches of Pleasing Personalities in the City of Salisbury and Wicomico County', compiled and printed in Salisbury 1934-1935. I augmented it from newspaper clippings and recollections of those who knew Mr. Wootten.
Al Wootten (1875-1937).
No man has been more active in the business life or a busy city than Al Wootten. Born in Dorchestercounty, Md., Sept. 4th, 1875, he established his residence in Salisbury June the 30th, 1896.
Early in life he married Miss Gertrude May Parsons of this county. Four children were born to them three sons and one daughter, all of whom are now living and reside ln Salisbury.
From 1896 until Feb. 1902, Mr. Wootten was employed In the Traffic Department of the B. C. & A. Railway.
The years between 1902 and 1916 he was busily engaged in making brick-the firm name being the Wicomico Brick Co. The Wicomico Brick Co. was located in White Haven, MD on the Wicomico River and in Salisbury, MD on the B. C. & A. Railway. A receipt dated 7 October 1908 shows Mr. H. G. Hayman purchased 400 red bricks for $3.60 and 200 salmon bricks for $1.40. Mr. Hayman was Mrs. Wootten's cousin.
From that time until 1921 Mr. Wootten was engaged in selling supplies to the farmers.
Seeking a larger outlet for hls activities, he established the Victor Lynn Transportation Co. in February of 1921, which he owned and managed until 1930, at which tlme he sold his holdings to Day and Zimmerman, a Delaware Corporation.
The flrst trip made by the Victor Lynn carried a load of sweet potatoes to the Baltimore market, and brought back 50 drums of oil for the American Oil Co. On the same trip small shipments of groceries were received consigned to each of the three wholesale houses in the city. The first boat was a small oil burning freighter, named the `Victor Lynn' after Mr. Wootten's eldest son. In 1922, that boat burned, and was replaced by a larger and more commodious steamer. This second boat, also the ``Victor Lynn'', soon plied the waters between the Eastern Shore and Baltimore. It has Mr. Wootten's energy and initiative that made possible the splendid Victor Lynn system of today which covers practically the entire Shore (1935). As the Victor Lynn Company played a large role in family history for nearly forty years, we digress to tell some of the story of Mr. Wootten's company.
The Salisbury Times of 29 Oct. 1952 stated under the headline `Portrait of Victor Lynn Lines Founder is Unveiled Here', that Al Wootten started the Victor Lynn line Feb 1, 1921 with one boat, the first ``Victor Lynn''. At one time, there were four boats being operated by the company-the Victor Lynn, the Henrietta Frances, the Cleo and the City of Salisbury. In May, 1929, the Henrietta Frances, propelled by two Deisel engines, was bought from E. S. Adkins Co. and placed into freight service between Salisbury and Baltimore. At that time, the Steamer Victor Lynn made three trips per week, leaving Salisbury at 3 p. m. on Monday, Wednesday and Friday for Pier No. 4, Pratt Street in Baltimore. She arrived there in the wee hours of the morning, and she left at 4 p. m. for the return. With the Henrietta Frances, daily service began between Salisbury and Baltimore.
From an old newspaper clipping, we hear of the part the Victor Lynn played in an exciting Bay rescue. On 1 August 1929, 28 boys traveling from Annapolis to Camp Milbur on the Magothy River aboard a converted steel lifeboat named the Maid of the Mist ran into trouble about a half mile south of Gibson Island. A serious leak had developed, killing the motor, an old Chevy engine, just as the wind began to rise. Bailing was a losing proposition as the wind developed to storm at nightfall. The boys tried to put on some of the few life jackets aboard but the waves were too high. They returned to the boat to flash out an SOS on their flashlight. The water was nearly at the gunwales when a freighter outbound for China spotted them and relayed their distress signal. The first ship arriving at the scene was the Victor Lynn under the command of Capt. Mason Webster, of Mount Vernon. He and several crewmembers put off in boats and took the boys from their sinking vessel. Ten minutes later she went to the bottom. Capt. Webster, bound for Salisbury, took the boys with him and transferred them to the Henrietta Frances, bound for Baltimore, where the boys were delivered to Pier 4 Pratt St early on the morning of 2 August.
Though the Victor Lynn was the mainstay of the fleet, the pride of the fleet was the `City of Salisbury', bought by Mr. Wootten in 1930 for $1,500. She had been built the `Joppa' in 1885 by Harlan and Hollingsworth for the Maryland Steamboat Company. She was 198 feet six inches overall, with a beam of 54 feet 6 inches outside her wheelboxes. The feathering paddlewheels were 22 feet in diameter. For thirty-six years she had plowed the Bay between Baltimore and the Choptank, serving eighteen landings on the way to Cambridge and Denton. In 1921 the `Joppa' switched to a Nanticoke River route, eventually serving the Wicomico River. She was laid up in 1929. In 1934 she was rebuilt as a deisel by the Salisbury Yacht Building Corporation, and in 1935 she was rechristened the `City of Salisbury' and joined her sisters in the Victor Lynn fleet. On December 26, 1941, Gertrude M. Wootten gave to her four children a two-thirds interest in the `City of Salisbury', the interest she had obtained in 1938 at the close of Al Wootten's estate. The vessel was appraised at $120,000 and Mrs. Wootten paid a gift tax on the transaction. On December 31, 1941, the five owners sold the vessel to the U. S. Navigation Company, a New York Corporation, for $120,000. In 1945 she was sold to the United States government, who renamed her the U. S. S. Colonel Henry R. Casey in 1947. She was employed in mine planting. In 1950 or 1955 (sources vary), she was sold to Mexican interests.
By October 1952, of the four ships of the Victor Lynn fleet, only the ``Victor Lynn'' was left, but by that time there were 200 trucks operating in seven states with terminals in New York City, Jersey City, Wilmington, Philadelphia, Baltimore, Milford and Salisbury and operations in Virginia and the District of Columbia also, employing 350 people. Water operations ceased in 1954. Sale of the company was reported in the Salisbury Times of 26 February, 1959, to Eastern Freight Ways.
Returning to the short sketch of Mr. Wootten, the 1935 book continues.
Retiring from active work after the sale of the Transportation Co. Mr. Wootten realized a lifelong ambition in the building of a beautiful Colonial home at 300 E. Williams St. where he now (1935) resides with his family.
Genial and affable-with a ready smile-no man is more popular than Al Wootten, and none have contributed more to putting Salisbury in the front rank of Maryland cities than he.
The sale Of the Victor Lynn Transportation Co. was supposed to mark his retirement from the fleld of active business, but he is still young-still active, and liable at any time to launch a new project-bigger and better than anything he has yet done.
Quiet and unassuming in manner, friendly and likeable, he rates high in the estimation of all who know him.
He may or may not be the typical 100average is highly satisfying to those who have done business with him for these many years.
Children of Alphonso WOOTTEN and Gertrude May PARSONS:
Children of Sally Pauline WOOTTEN and Mark Scott TAYLOR:
Florentine WOOTTEN and William G. ROOP had no children.
Children of Florentine WOOTTEN and Thomas Bates WINDSOR:
Children of Normadel H. WOOTTEN and Henry E. SHERMAN: